Skip to content Skip to footer

Table of contents

This Colorado Human Resources Manual is offered to you for free. Find state specific laws and regulations below.

Other types of leave — Colorado

Time off to vote

Colorado law requires employers to provide registered voters up to two hours of paid leave from work to vote if the employee does not have three or more hours outside of work. Employees must apply for voting time leave before election day. The employer may specify the hours during which the employee may be absent, but if the employee requests, the hours must be at the beginning or end of the work shift.

Time off for jury duty

The Colorado Uniform Jury Selection and Service Act requires employers to pay employees their regular wages during the first three days of jury service, not to exceed $50 per day unless the parties have agreed otherwise. A juror is covered under the act if he or she is regularly employed, which can include part time, temporary or casual employment if the employment hours have been customary during the three months prior to jury service.

Victim of a violent crime

Colorado law requires employers with 50 or more employees to provide up to three days of unpaid leave to employees (who have been employed for 12 months or more) who are victims of domestic abuse, stalking or sexual assault in order to protect themselves or their children. The leave may be used to:

  • seek a restraining order
  • obtain medical care or mental health counseling
  • secure a home from the perpetrator
  • seek legal assistance.

Employers may require the employee to use accrued vacation, sick leave or other forms of paid leave. Employers are permitted to request documentation confirming the reason for the leave.